The Cliffs of Insanity

May 18, 2011

This is one I’ve been trying to do for about as long as I’ve had gardens at home (as opposed to at work where many of my preliminary designs were conceived), before last night I’d never really been able to get it just right. There was always something wrong with it like too much sand in the vertical strokes, or a poorly managed diagonal stroke.

Although I’m invoking The Princess Bride with the title, this isn’t really meant to be a depiction of the Cliffs of Insanity, just so you know. More, this is my vision of a high-speed car chase around one of those crazy-steep cliff-edge roads like the ones you see in European crime movies. And the occasional episode of Lupin III.

It doesn’t really make a lot of sense, the way I’ve depicted it, with the slopes going up and turning into sheer cliff wall. But what can you do? I like the design, I think it works. The diagonal lines cutting across the horizontal lines reminds me off that 80s design sense where Venetian line gradation was the in thing. Think, Risky Business. Or the backs of Lamborghinis.

Leave a Reply

