On the Rocks

February 8, 2009

zen-garden-24

Crash! Thunder! Roar!

Behold the tumultuous madness of the waterfall!

I like exclamation points!

So, I don’t think this is the best or the last you’ll see of my attempts at waterfalls. I think the spray is a little wonky in places. And I think the stones need to be more logically positioned, and I think the top curves of the beginnings need to be better realized, but ultimately, yeah, I’m digging this for what it is.

I’ve always been a huge fan of waterfalls. Back in Hamilton, I used to bike up the mountain rail trail to a place called Albion Falls, and I used to picnic on a fat, flat stone (about the size of a large white van), and Simone (my gff) would wade around in the water of the falls, and I would yoga or tai chi my way into hippie heaven. One time, while we were up there, a young skimpy girl and a middle aged photographer were there for a photo shoot. It was amusing to watch the photographer try to direct the girl, shouting over the roar of the falls. But it broke my heart that she clearly had no idea how to act (artistically, I mean), and couldn’t even take basic physical direction.

Maybe she was just nervous. But as someone who’s been in theatre for over fifteen years, it’s hard for me to imagine stage fright.

Bottom line: it was the least sexy photo shoot I think I’ve ever seen. And she had a nice body. Keep that in mind next time you’re flipping through a Maxim.

(there’s that childish sun again…argh…I just can’t stop myself)

Leave a Reply

