Elemental Cycle Pt. 3: Mine Campfire!

January 24, 2009

The first draft of this piece I did at East Wind, just fooling around, trying out some new techniques (I found myself getting too mired in left-to-right, up-to-down type, Western thinking style gardens), so I started making wild swooshes that didn’t start on one side and connect with the other, but, rather, faded out, like tracks in the snow.

Then this dude came in and was like, “Hey, I like the lotus design.”

And I was like, “Lotus, eh?” and I busted out the samurai swords and chopped him in half in a frenzy of unleashed artistic fury. Blood sprayed about the tiny room, ruining the design, forcing me to commit it to memory with ninja-like photographic reflexes. 

That didn’t really happen. It was more of a sushi knife.

Seriously, though. The lotus comment made me pretty resentful all that day. And it almost made me try something different. Almost kept me from hatching the five elements plot in the first place (fire was the first).

I think it’s neat how fire and water are the least serene of all the designs. A sort of natural pandemonium vivifies both elements, broken down to their raw representations. What I’m implying is that fire and water both have multitudinous applications that are kinda dull. I mean, there’s only so long you can stare at a smokestack.

But if you just try to picture the elements themselves, on their own, free from earthly restrictions, I don’t know. There’s just something explosive about both of them. Whereas earth, wood and metal are mostly boring if left to their own devices. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge hiking enthusiast. But chemically speaking, fire and water, they just got it going on. 

Which is why they have such little power in Feng Shui, no doubt. More on that later.

Leave a Reply

