Elemental Cycle Pt. 2: Earring Tree!

January 24, 2009

Sometimes I feel like this is a really boring one. But I wanted each element to have a distinctive style. Water uses a lapping technique, fire, a swooshing, tapering technique, earth, an enjambment technique, metal, a focused technique, and wood, a streamlining technique. 

So it’s not just that the pictures depict the element in a differentiating way stylistically, but also technically. 

Also, if you’re a sand gardener at home, you know what a bitch it is to get all the base lines straight. And, if you’re a regular Sand Zen viewer, you know that I don’t always put the strictest effort into achieving this first rule of zen gardening (I should really get around to talking about that someday, but I think my gardens will eventually give you all you need to know). 

Anyway, what I was going to say was, with all the base lines being a little crooked, it gives the feeling of a real woodland area behind the tree image. 

As I said in the last post, the stones are meant to resemble fruit in this one. But the more I look at it the more the stones look like earrings. My girlfriend Simone, a talented artist in her own right, made us a sweet earring tree out of coat-hangers. If I get around to it, I’ll post a pic of her creation here.

Leave a Reply

